Skip To Main Content

Kennedy Middle School Presents RCSD’s First Class of Graduates with their Seal of Biliteracy

Kennedy Middle School Presents RCSD’s First Class of Graduates with their Seal of Biliteracy

More than a dozen pioneering middle school students will be the first from Redwood City School District (RCSD) to obtain Biliteracy Attainment Recognition through the San Mateo County Office of Education (SMCOE) as part of a new program. 

The Kennedy Middle School eighth graders, donning special red and yellow stoles representing the Spanish flag at their award ceremony, received the noteworthy recognition based on specific proficiency criteria in English and one or more languages in addition to English. Students had to meet several criteria and requirements, including video presentations demonstrating high-proficiency. 

“This award is designed to set a standard for high-level biliteracy attainment for students in our Spanish Immersion program with the hope that they continue their Spanish language study at the high school level,” said David Camarena, Vice Principal. “Students who achieved this award met grade-level requirements in both English and Spanish.”

The 2022-23 promoting students were the first to leave Redwood City School District with official County Office recognition for their biliteracy.

The partnership with SMCOE makes Redwood City School District and Kennedy Middle School a Seal of Biliteracy District and School.

Picture of certificate

A certificate with the Seal of Biliteracy presented to a Kennedy graduate. Picture courtesy of Cohen family. 

Students who achieve this recognition are on a pathway to meet the requirements to earn the State Seal of Biliteracy, a gold seal on a student’s high school diploma or transcript, confirming a high level of proficiency in speaking, reading, and writing one or more languages in addition to English. 

Alfredo Oropeza, eighth-grade Spanish Immersion teacher and integral part of the program, bestowed awards to the following students:

Michael Beltran Serrano, Andrew Cedeño Segura, Skye Cohen, Benjamin De la Cruz, Sage Gainey, Griffin Larson, Araceli Lazarus, Guillermo Leon Martinez, Bianca Melgar, Miles Moore, Manuel Perez Bravo, Gavin Powell, Varun Raman, Elliot Rios, Lucy Tyndall, and Mia Zoepf.